ALL FIREARMS WILL HAVE A SAFETY LOCKING DEVICE APPLIED TO THE FIREARM.
ALL FIREARMS WILL BE IN A LOCKED FIREARM CASE.
ALL FIREARMS WILL BE UNLOADED.
REVOLVERS WILL HAVE THE CYLINDERS OPEN
ALL SEMI-AUTOMATICS WILL HAVE THE SLIDE LOCKED TO THE REAR.
SEMI-AUTOMATICS WITHOUT LOCKING SLIDES WILL HAVE A CABLE LOCKING DEVICE APPLIED THROUGH THE EJECTION PORT AND THE MAGAZINE WELL OR BARREL.
How old do you have to be to take any of the courses offered?
Children 10 years of age and older may be enrolled in the Basic Firearm Safety Course.
What is the age of shooters at the San Leandro shooting range?
Shooters 12-15 may only shoot 22 rifles with a signed consent form and only under direct adult supervision.
Shooters 16 -18 may shoot handguns when accompanied be a parent, grandparent or legal guardian.
Shooters 18 -20 may shoot a handgun when accompanied by a shooter 21 years of age or older.
(Please see the San Leandro Rifle and Pistol Range Safety Policies)
You teach how to safely handle a firearm, why is that necessary?
The state of California requires gun owners to know how to safely handle, operate and store their firearm and firearm ammunition. California Penal Code 31610.
When you purchase a firearm, the last step before the dealer delivers the firearm to you is the firearm safe handling test. If you fail the test, the gun dealer will not deliver the firearm to you. You are required to sign an affidavit that you passed the safe gun handling demonstration.
Is my unexpired handgun safety certificate any good?
Yes, you may use it to purchase a handgun (ONLY) California Penal Code 31615 (a) (1). You will need a Firearms Safety Certificate to purchase a rifle or shotgun (long gun). As of January 1, 2015 you are required to obtain a Firearms Safety Certificate to possess firearms in California.
I go hunting, can I carry or wear a loaded firearm while I’m hunting?
Yes, California law allows the carrying of a loaded firearm in public while hunting in an area where possession and hunting is otherwise lawful. California penal code 26005 and 26040.
Does everyone have to obtain a Firearms Safety Certificate in California?
No, there are exemptions under California Penal Code 31700, allowing persons to purchase firearms in California.
* X01 = Special Weapons Permit Holder
* X02 = Operation of Law Representative
* X03 = Handgun being returned to the owner
* X13 = FFL collector with COE (curio and relic handguns only)
* X21 = Military – Active Duty
* X22 = Military – Reserve
* X25 = Military – Honorably Retired
* X31 = Peace Officer – California – Active
* X32 = Peace Officer – Federal – Active
* X33 = Peace Officer – California – Honorably Retired
* X34 = Peace Officer – California – Reserve
* X35 = Peace Officer – Federal – Honorably Retired
* X41 = Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit Holder
* X81 = P.O.S.T. 832 PC (Firearms) Training
* X91 = Particular and Limited Authority Peace Officers
* X95 = Law Enforcement Service Gun to Family Member
* X98 = Valid Hunting License (long guns only)